Bücher Rechtsgebiete

PRACTICES

Sanctions

Restrictive measures or "sanctions" are an instrument of the Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) of the European Union. Sanctions are intended to bring about a change in the policies or actions of those against whom the measures are directed, thus promoting the goals of the CFSP. They are directed against

  • Governments of non-EU member states because of their policies;

  • Organizations (companies) providing the means for the policies against which the measures are directed;

  • Groups or associations such as terrorist groups; and

  • Individuals who support the policies against which the measures are directed.

Sanctions include:

  • Arms embargoes;

  • Entry restrictions for listed persons (travel ban);

  • Freezing of the assets of listed persons or organizations;

  • Economic sanctions or restrictions for certain branches of the economy, including import or export bans for certain goods, investment bans, prohibition on the provision of certain services.

Listed persons and organizations may request the Council to review the decision to include them on the list. Finally, the listed persons and organizations have the opportunity to contest the decision of the Council, under the conditions set out in Article 275 (2) and Article 263 (4) and (6) TFEU, before the General Court of the European Union.

The firm advises organizations, persons, and public bodies in structuring their own (business) activities in order to avoid sanctions, as well as in proceedings before member state authorities and Union courts if those concerned feel unjustifiably affected by sanctions.

Bücher Rechtsgebiete

FACHGEBIETE

Sanktionen

Restriktive Maßnahmen oder "Sanktionen" sind ein Instrument der Gemeinsamen Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik (GASP) der Europäischen Union. Sanktionen sollen eine Änderung in der Politik oder im Handeln derjenigen bewirken, gegen die sich die Maßnahmen richten, und so die Ziele der GASP befördern. Sie richten sich gegen

  • die Politik von Regierungen von Nicht-EU-Mitgliedstaaten;

  • Organisationen (Unternehmen), die die Mittel für die Politik, gegen die sich die Maßnahmen richten, bereitstellen;

  • Gruppen oder Vereinigungen wie etwa terroristische Gruppen; und

  • Einzelpersonen, die die Politik, gegen die sich die Maßnahmen richten, unterstützen.

Zu Sanktionen zählen:

  • Waffenembargos;

  • Einreisebeschränkungen für gelistete Personen (Reiseverbot);

  • Einfrieren der Vermögenswerte von gelisteten Personen oder Organisationen;

  • Wirtschaftssanktionen oder Einschränkungen für bestimmte Wirtschaftszweige, u. a. Einfuhr- oder Ausfuhrverbote für bestimmte Güter, Investitionsverbote, Verbot der Erbringung bestimmter Dienstleistungen.

Gelistete Personen und Organisationen können beim Rat beantragen, dass der Beschluss, sie in die Liste aufzunehmen, überprüft wird. Schließlich haben die gelisteten Personen und Organisationen die Möglichkeit, den Beschluss des Rates – unter den in Artikel 275 Absatz 2 und Artikel 263 Absätze 4 und 6 AEUV genannten Voraussetzungen – vor dem Gericht der Europäischen Union anzufechten.

Die Kanzlei berät Organisationen, Personen und öffentlichen Stellen bei der Strukturierung der eigenen (Geschäfts-)Tätigkeit zur Vermeidung von Sanktionen und in Verfahren vor mitgliedsstaatlichen Behörden und Unionsgerichten, wenn sich Betroffene ungerechtfertigt von Sanktionen beeinträchtigt sehen.